Update: “me” page updated and an “autumn” page added :)

I’m having a MAJOR stomachache right now.  ><  While contemplating the reasons why this could have happened, it all boiled down to…

Cold.

Our house was about 68*F at dinnertime, and apparently, that’s a few degrees below my optimal eating temperature.  i.e. when eating WON’T give me a stomachache.  Curse you, warm stomach!!!  D:  I’m a smack-dab middle-of-winter baby (February), but I can’t. stand. cold. weather.  Too many bad memories of standing at the bus stop in 18*F (which I know is nothing for some people, lol) weather, being completely numb in my feet, eyes stinging from the wind… I mean, it’s not winter yet, but the transition into winter weather has been brutal, especially over the past week.  *shivers* Rainy, windy, cold, and gloomy—oh, hello to you too, November.  On top of that, my agenda has been mocking me again…

But I digress.  On to sunnier rambling!  :)

One thing I do love about autumn/winter are the tasty root veggies. nomnomnom. Last week, my mom and I went to the farmer’s market and came back with an eclectic pile of produce, including my favorite type of sweet potato.  It’s the yellow-fleshed Japanese kind, with paler skin and starchier innards.  My favorite way to eat them is roasted, so predictably, I roasted them last night:

My gut food feeling told me that this was no ordinary sweet potato as soon as I pierced it for doneness.

Using my trusty silver fork, I broke through the crisp, marvelously charred skin into a heaven of soft, happy, tantalizing flesh…

And grabbed some MaraNatha almond butter with the same lovely fork…

… and snapped pictures frantically, yearning to dig in…

Oh BABY.  I can honestly say that this was the best sweet potato I have ever eaten.  I was literally drooling while taking the pictures, seeing how fluffy the flesh was and how crispy the roasted skin was… I’m taking pictures of a sweet potato. It has to be delicious!!!  And why was it special?

I’m convinced it’s because it’s from the farmer’s market.  Farmer’s market produce seriously cannot be beat.  Seasonal, fresh, and local—there’s nothing better.  The Japanese sweet potatoes I usually buy at the Korean supermarket are good, but nowhere near this baby.  I was floored.  Never had a yellow sweet potato with flesh as sweet or perfectly starchy, yet magically, not dry at all.

If you’re curious about how I devoured this, I’ll describe my method in the least barbaric way possible: scoop almond butter, scoop flesh, eat, luxuriate.  Requires a lot of thought process, yes?  I didn’t go back for more almond butter after it was gone; the sweet potato was just that could all by itself, with the teensiest sprinkle of sea salt on top to make the flavor explode.  Crrrrunchy sea salt with sweet, soft, flesh (I need better adjectives).  Mouthgasm.  Honestly, I could have eaten the entire thing plain, which is exactly what I did this morning.  With good produce, you don’t need any extras—the best of Mother Nature is enough on its own.

Last night, though, I encountered a familiar friend near the end of my journey…

Why hello there.

I just couldn’t resist a little sprinkling of sesame seeds!  :) As usual, the flavor addition did not disappoint.  Roasty toastiness + more roasty toastiness?  Bring it.

Q1: What’s your favorite winter produce?

Q2: How have your tastebuds changed? I can’t believe I used to HATE sweet potatoes!!!

Now the fun times are over.  It is homework time.  It is time to debate whether or not intelligence is inherited.

… Hmm…

